SunglassA very strange album, this, but it has a kind of hypnotic appeal to me. Most of the numbers are very slow, acoustic, and at best are mesmerising. The “group” consists of Simon Honisett and Penny Hewson, with occasional guest players, and the production values are low-tech, maybe barely a step above the Finn Brothers’ debut album (you can’t hear most of the tape hiss), but the sameness of most of the songs may lose Sunglass some points with some listeners. On the good side, the lyrics are often interesting, and there are 3 out of 4some interesting vocals – Penny Hewson sometimes comes across sounding a little like Julee Cruise.

  1. Most Days (4:18)
  2. The Saddest Girl in the World (2:47)
  3. The Biggest Mess (4:19)
  4. Dust (2:15)
  5. Before The Light (4:37)
  6. Hollowhead (2:37)
  7. Here We Go Again (2:56)
  8. When Stars Collide (2:17)
  9. You and Me (2:05)
  10. For Real (4:33)
  11. Sugar Sweet Goodbye (2:48)
  12. I Want To Be There (7:10)
  13. Bringing Someone Back (5:48)
  14. Remember These (4:41)

Released by: Choc Chip Records
Release date: 1994
Total running time: 48:37