Tori Amos – Little Earthquakes

Tori Amos - Little EarthquakesThis one is an oddity. I don’t know quite how it managed to get so much attention so very quickly; not that it’s not good music, mind you – it’s astonishingly good, easily the best pop album to hit the shelves in the early 1990s. But it’s an oddity in its execution – mostly acoustic piano with little accompaniment, and a husky solo female vocal. It’s certainly not like anything else on the market, and maybe that’s why I like it so much. The songs to listen for closely are 4 out of 4“Little Earthquakes”, “Tear In Your Hand”, and the emotionally shattering “Winter”; actually, that’s far from the only song capable of stirring deep emotions here, which may be key to its appeal (and, frankly, another reason I was surprised it caught on when it did). Also check out her early singles if you like this album – more on that in another review in this section.

    Order this CD in the Store

  1. Crucify (4:58)
  2. Girl (4:06)
  3. Silent All These Years (4:10)
  4. Precious Things (4:26)
  5. Winter (5:40)
  6. Happy Phantom (3:12)
  7. China (4:58)
  8. Leather (3:12)
  9. Mother (6:59)
  10. Tear In Your Hand (4:38)
  11. Me and a Gun (3:44)
  12. Little Earthquakes (6:51)

Released by: Atlantic
Release date: 1991
Total running time: 56:54