The Move – Shazam / Something Else From The Move

The Move - Shazam / Something Else From The MoveShazam was the first Move album I ever found on vinyl, and it’s certainly a unique slice of late 60s/early 70s rock. Having lost Carl Wayne, who wanted to indulge in smoother crooning than the rest of the band desired, to a cabaret singing career, this album saw a bit of overcompensation for that loss by leaning in a much heavier rock direction, almost on the doorstep of heavy metal. But there is still evidence of the group’s pop roots in the opening numbers “Hello Susie”, a rocking pop tune full of Beatle-ish harmonies, and the unusual “Beautiful Daughter”, which has some wonderful string quartet textures courtesy of Roy Wood and lyrics which seem to concern a situation not unlike a “farmer’s daughter” joke. Further treats include a hard rock remake of the Move’s own classic “Cherry Blossom Clinic” 3 out of 4(though it’s nowhere near as good as the original), and long, jam-session versions of “Fields Of People” and Mann & Weill’s “Don’t Make My Baby Blue”. Also, only on the CD pressing, a long-lost live EP is included, with five songs common to any rock group’s late 60s repertoire as only the Move can play them. The Move is an acquired taste as it is, but this album especially is one of the group’s most eclectic releases.

Order this CD

  1. Hello Susie (4:55)
  2. Beautiful Daughter (2:36)
  3. Cherry Blossom Clinic Revisited (7:40)
  4. Fields of People (10:09)
  5. Don’t Make My Baby Blue (6:18)
  6. The Last Thing On My Mind (7:35)
  7. So You Want To Be A Rock ‘n’ Roll Star – live (3:01)
  8. Stephanie Knows Who – live (3:06)
  9. Something Else – live (2:24)
  10. It’ll Be Me – live (2:38)
  11. Sunshine Help Me – live (5:14)

Released by: Cube / Edel
Release date: 1970
Total running time: 56:43