Star Trek: Newly Recorded Music, Volume 1

Star Trek soundtrackDespite all my ravings about the wonders of GNP Crescendo’s original soundtrack releases, this is an example of how nice it would be to have more than one party releasing Star Trek music (do you hear me, Silva America?). This Varese Sarabande compilation of newly recorded suites from the original series is a vast improvement over Label X’s over-long extended suites, and also features music from episodes that GNP Crescendo hasn’t touched, such as The Corbomite Maneuver and Charlie X, both of 4 out of 4which generated some of the best-remembered musical cues in the entire series. Very highly recommended!

  1. Star Trek main title & closing theme (1:19)

    Suite from The Corbomite Maneuver

  2. The Corbomite Maneuver (5:03)

    Suite from Charlie X

  3. Kirk’s Command / Charlie’s Mystery / Charlie’s Gift (3:37)
  4. Kirk Is Worried / Card Tricks / Charlie’s Yen (3:23)
  5. Zap Sam / Zap Janice / Zap The Cap / Zap The Spaceship (4:18)
  6. Order this CD Charlie’s Friend / Goodbye Charlie (2:44)

    Suite from The Doomsday Machine

  7. Goodbye Mr. Decker / Kirk Does It Again (5:39)

    Suite from Mudd’s Women

  8. Three Venuses / Meet Mudd / Hello Girls… (3:10)
  9. Hello Ruth / The Last Crystal / The Venus drug (4:30)
  10. Planet Rigel / Eve Is Out / Space Radio (4:09)
  11. Eve Cooks / Pretty Eve / Mudd’s Farewell (3:17)

Released by: Varese Sarabande
Release date: 1986
Total running time: 41:09