Split Enz – The Living Enz

Split Enz - The Living EnzThis is one of the very few live albums I have ever really liked. The audience is plenty noisy, but the band revels in the feedback. Some of the classic Enz tunes have never sounded better, represented by “Time For A Change”, “Bold As Brass” and an absolutely beautiful rendition of “Charlie”. Tim Finn rejoined the group for the farewell tour that sparked this album, and the lively banter between he and Neil is often almost as entertaining as the music itself. There are few albums I can think of – not even the aforementioned Parsons live CD – that are almost like being there. This one definitely qualifies. It’s reasonably easy to find – despite being an import and a double disc, it’s generally easier to find than most Australian 3 out of 4manufactured Enz releases – and I highly recommend it! It serves as a sweeping overview of the band’s body of work, played with enthusiasm and a genuine sense that they’re loving it. It’s also a much better introduction to some of the better Enz songs – though more early favorites would have made it even better – than the existing best-of compilation.

Order this CD

    Disc one

  1. I Walk Away (4:43)
  2. One Step Ahead (3:35)
  3. Bold As Brass (5:35)
  4. Ninnie Knees Up (3:39)
  5. I See Red (4:15)
  6. Message To My Girl (4:27)
  7. I Hope I Never (4:53)
  8. Dirty Creature (5:58)
  9. Hard Act To Follow (3:08)
  10. Time For A Change (3:57)
    Disc two

  1. Strait Old Line (4:16)
  2. Walking Through the Ruins (6:41)
  3. Pioneer (2:01)
  4. Six Months in a Leaky Boat (5:24)
  5. Take A Walk (4:21)
  6. Small World (4:57)
  7. Lost For Words (3:43)
  8. Years Go By (4:18)
  9. Charlie (5:47)

Released by: Mushroom
Release date: 1985
Disc one total running time: 44:12
Disc two total running time: 41:30