Split Enz – Conflicting Emotions

Split Enz - Conflicting EmotionsTim Finn’s final album as a member of Split Enz in the studio is a bit uneven. Such Enz classics as Neil’s “Strait Old Line” and the well-known “Message To My Girl” – both revived on the later ENZSO album – came from this album, but there are very electronic and almost disco-esque tunes such as “Bullet Brain And Cactus Head” that I usually skip over. The underlying problem I have with Conflicting Emotions is the predominance of sequencers, drum machines and other synthetic elements – sure, the 3 out of 4band had used them before, but not to this degree. To balance this, however, there are two lovely songs that are worth finding, both of which are primarily piano-and-vocal pieces: Neil’s typically cryptic “The Devil You Know” and Tim’s melancholy farewell “Bon Voyage” – appropriately enough, the last song on the album and Tim Finn’s last hurrah as a member of Split Enz.

Order this CD

  1. Strait Old Line (4:01)
  2. Bullet Brain & Cactus Head (3:59)
  3. Message to My Girl (4:04)
  4. Working Up An Appetite (4:07)
  5. Our Day (4:58)
  6. No Mischief (4:14)
  7. The Devil You Know (3:36)
  8. I Wake Up Every Night (4:46)
  9. Conflicting Emotions (4:30)
  10. Bon Voyage (4:04)

Released by: Mushroom
Release date: 1984
Total running time: 42:19