Ralf Illenberger – Soleil

Ralf Illenberger - SoleilAfter his 1990 album veered away in a very different direction from Circle, Ralf thankfully drifted somewhat closer to the styles he explored in his debut album with his latest release to date. There is a greater emphasis on jazz elements than the second album’s rockier feel, which is as it should be – Illenberger’s music is much more suited to jazz. If anything, this album offers quite a few surprises, including the addition of vocalist Susan Osborn and more keyboards and piano than previous albums. The rating: 4 out of 4only problem with Soleil is that it has been Illenberger’s last album to date – and considering the promise that this one showed, that’s a crying shame. If you liked Circle, you’ll love this.

  1. First Beam (1:43)
  2. Dancing Kachinas (3:22)
  3. Thin Blood (4:18)
  4. Soleil (5:28)
  5. Order this CD You and I (4:38)
  6. Nightfall (2:51)
  7. Dark Glow (6:15)
  8. Traveler in Time (5:04)
  9. Sunstorm (5:24)
  10. Quiet Morning (6:21)
  11. Southwest (4:52)

Released by: Narada
Release date: 1993
Total running time: 50:16