Ralf Illenberger – Heart & Beat

Ralf Illenberger - Heart & BeatThough this album was my introduction to Ralf Illenberger, it pales in comparison to his other works. There seemed to be a conscious attempt with Heart & Beat to veer toward a more rock-influenced sound, and while Ralf can manage that style of playing as deftly as he can jazz, it’s such a disappointment to hear him trying to step into that genre. Still, there are good tunes on here.

rating: 2 out of 4

  1. Heart & Beat (4:52)
  2. Love Bird (3:43)
  3. Forrest (4:46)
  4. Fun Tango (4:50)
  5. A Sunday At Home (4:00)
  6. A Heart Rocks (3:28)
  7. Eastern Boardwalk (5:52)
  8. Order this CD Sign Of Horus (3:36)
  9. Marimba (Rain Dance) (2:58)

Released by: Narada
Release date: 1990
Total running time: 38:05