Lindsey Buckingham – Go Insane

Lindsey Buckingham - Go InsaneLindsey Buckingham’s second solo effort has evidently never hit me in the right place or at the right time. There are songs on here that I dearly love – “Go Insane” and “I Want You” – but there are also songs that I cannot stand (the far-too-long “Play In The Rain” being a prime example). One would think that the greater abundance of electronic instruments and tools available to Buckingham in 1984 would’ve given him a broad new palette to use well…but it quickly becomes painfully obvious that this man would do well to stick with guitar rock. Samplers and drum machines do not a good song make without some inkling of how to distribute them throughout the arrangement.

There are some moments of brilliance here, to be sure. “Go Insane” and “Bang The Drum” demonstrate some of Buckingham’s best production licks, including rapid-fire vocals which alternate stereo channels so every other word is in your left ear, but every other word is in your right ear – Buckingham’s music is always best as headphone listening. “I Must Go” is another must-listen…and one wonders, from the lyrics, if it might not be a song about a certain Ms. Nicks’ habits. (Not that every member of the Mac didn’t have their vices by this point…)

I can’t tell you how much I don’t like “Play In The Rain”. With its minimal lyrics, annoying barrage of samples and sounds, and the fact that it’s spread out over two parts (for no readily apparent reason), I have plenty of reasons to skip both tracks anytime I listen to Go Insane. I understand that he was probably experimenting with new and exciting sounds…but this is Rating: 2 out of 4one experiment that really doesn’t hold up.

I give Go Insane a cautious recommendation. You’d better be an ardent fan of Mr. Buckingham’s to sit through this entire album.

Order this CD in the Store

  1. I Want You (3:19)
  2. Go Insane (3:05)
  3. Slow Dancing (4:06)
  4. I Must Go (4:51)
  5. Play In The Rain (3:21)
  6. Play In The Rain – continued (4:15)
  7. Loving Cup (5:02)
  8. Bang The Drum (3:31)
  9. D.W. Suite (6:50)

Released by: Warner Bros.
Release date: 1984
Total running time: 38:22