Ladyhawke – music by Andrew Powell

Ladyhawke soundtrackAn atypically anachronistic score for a medieval-fantasy movie, this album was composed by Andrew Powell, longtime orchestra arranger/conductor for Alan Parsons. Which brings us to why I even sought this album out, not having seen the movie – Parsons produced the soundtrack album, and the band which comprised the core of Parsons’ Project circa 1984 or so is prominently featured on many tracks. So it’s no exaggeration to say that this album sounds like a missing page from the Alan Parsons catalog, and in many cases the music was inspired by earlier Project instrumentals. Ladyhawke director Richard Donner listened to Alan Parsons Project albums all during the production of the movie, and had several specific requests and suggestions regarding the film’s music, based on existing Project pieces such as Powell’s long “Fall Of The House Of Usher” orchestral suite from Parsons’ first album, among others, so the resemblance is no mere coincidence. The Project rhythm section is, as always, incredibly precise and intricate, and the music would sound perfectly natural played next to 4 out of 4anything from Parsons’ Vulture Culture or Stereotomy. I like this album a lot, because it combines some nice – if occasionally predictable – orchestral passages with the signature Parsons sound, but I’d really only recommend it to diehard Parsons fans, or diehard fans of this movie in particular.

    Order this CD in the Store

  1. Main Title (2:59)
  2. Philippe’s Escape (1:40)
  3. The Search for Philippe (3:25)
  4. Tavern Fight – Philippe (2:08)
  5. Tavern Fight – Navarre (2:38)
  6. Pitou’s Woods (4:04)
  7. Philippe Describes Isabeau (1:11)
  8. Bishop’s Procession (2:50)
  9. Wedding Music (1:41)
  10. Navarre’s Ambush (4:53)
  11. Imperius Removes Arrow (1:33)
  12. The Chase / The Fall / Transformation – album version (2:06)
  13. Cezar’s Wood (5:29)
  14. She Was Sad At First (2:06)
  15. Navarre Returns to Aquila (1:36)
  16. Turret Chase / The Fall – film version (2:46)
  17. Wolf Trapped in Ice (2:34)
  18. Navarre and Isabeau’s Dual Transformation (3:23)
  19. Navarre and Marquet Duel (4:22)
  20. Marquet’s Death (1:59)
  21. Bishop’s Death (2:26)
  22. Final Reunion / End Title (8:14)
  23. Ladyhawke Theme – single version (3:35)

Released by: GNP Crescendo
Release date: 1985 (issued on CD in 1996)
Total running time: 70:06