Julee Cruise – Floating Into The Night

Julee Cruise - Floating Into The NightI seem to have tremendous difficulty trying to sell anyone on the merits of this album. The style of the production and the performances are far from the beaten path, coming as they do from the dubious musical team of jazz instrumentalist Angelo Badalamenti and Twin Peaks creator/Dune director David Lynch, with the breathy-to-breathless vocals of Julee Cruise. The entire project consists of pieces this team assembled for use in Twin Peaks, though most of them stand very well on their own, the only drawbacks being Lynch’s indecipherably cryptical lyrics which were largely concocted to coincide with the show’s equally confusing imagery and narrative. There also seems to be, as with all of Lynch’s work, a curious rating: 4 out of 4preoccupation with birds in the words. You’ll find everything from sparrows to owls to “The Nightingale” and “The Swan”. But if you can overlook the raison d’etre for this album and listen to it on its own, it ain’t bad…you just gotta be prepared for something different!

Order this CD

  1. Floating (4:51)
  2. Falling (theme from Twin Peaks) (5:18)
  3. I Remember (4:11)
  4. Rockin’ Back Inside My Heart (5:45)
  5. Mysteries of Love (4:27)
  6. Into the Night (4:42)
  7. I Float Alone (4:33)
  8. The Nightingale (4:54)
  9. The Swan (2:28)
  10. The World Spins (6:38)

Released by: Warner Bros.
Release date: 1989
Total running time: 47:47