Jewel – Pieces Of You

Jewel - Pieces Of YouThis girl’s just now hitting it big, and this album has been out for two years!? Amazing. Her presence on Atlantic seems to make it likely that the label sought her out as a kind of folksy Tori Amos clone, but Jewel is much more than that. I will admit that the single “Who Will Save Your Soul” mesmerized me into buying this album, and I’m glad it did. There are several live tracks that really come across as average, but the last song, “Amen”, is really where Jewel comes into her own and proves that she could indeed be the next Tori Amos without being a Tori clone. She abandons the folky style that has come to be her trademark and does 3 out of 4some truly beautiful singing, particularly as the tune draws to a close. Even if you don’t particularly care for her singles or her album so far, I think this is one to watch in the future. Highly recommended, even if only for the last track on the album!

Order this CD

  1. Who Will Save Your Soul (4:00)
  2. Pieces of You (4:15)
  3. Little Sister (2:29)
  4. Foolish Games (5:39)
  5. Near You Always (3:08)
  6. Painters (6:43)
  7. Morning Song (3:35)
  8. Adrian (7:02)
  9. I’m Sensitive (2:54)
  10. You Were Meant For Me (4:13)
  11. Don’t (3:34)
  12. Daddy (3:49)
  13. Angel Standing By (2:38)
  14. Amen (4:32)

Released by: Atlantic
Release date: 1994
Total running time: 58:56