Highlander: The Series soundtrackMy greatest accolade for the music from Highlander: The Series is that it achieves a rare balance of contemporary, neo-classical and futuristic without overdoing any of those styles or stooping to cliches. That alone would make this a great soundtrack no matter what show it might have come from! Admittedly, quite a bit of the music from Highlander has slipped by me, though many of the pieces I’d been hoping to hear sans dialogue and sword-clashing turned out to be absent. Still, the music is very pleasant and exotic, covering many periods and many genres of music in keeping with the 3 out of 4show’s constant flashbacks to nearly every period of history conceivable. Sadly, the stuff from the episode Homeland wasn’t included, as only material from the first three seasons made it into this CD. Fortunately, it’s pretty obvious that the composer would enjoy releasing a second compilation of series music, so there may be hope after all.

Order this CD

  1. Steam Hole (1:19)
  2. Through Pictures Stories (4:13)
  3. A Woody Through Time / Out For The Night (2:13)
  4. Squaw Man (3:05)
  5. A Faded Memory / A Secret Place (4:23)
  6. Demon Miracle (3:19)
  7. Hand In Hand (2:37)
  8. He’s a Star / Level Playing Field (5:14)
  9. Just a Dream / Falling Rose (2:15)
  10. Samurai Suite (7:07)
  11. The Food Chain (2:38)
  12. We Are Warriors (1:00)
  13. Dosi Duncan (1:07)
  14. Big River (3:30)
  15. Moderate Monks (1:32)
  16. Promise of Better (3:42)
  17. Winds With You (2:08)
  18. Literacy Kills (1:15)
  19. Slow on the Road (1:55)
  20. Belly Dance / Pink Pension (3:09)
  21. To Happiness (3:30)
  22. En Position / A Life Upside Down (3:30)

Released by: Bellchant Records
Release date: 1996
Total running time: 64:55