Electric Light Orchestra – Time

Electric Light Orchestra - TimeThough this isn’t my favorite ELO album of the 1980s, it contains my favorite song by the group which is also quite likely my favorite song of all time. I can’t say enough good things about “Rain Is Falling”, which achieves an almost perfect balance of orchestral and rock elements, and the vocals aren’t echoed too much (a common ELO failing of which even I tire), and it’s the band at its peak – at least for me. I could take up the rest of this whole review on this one song, but there are a whole dozen other tunes on Time, including the mechanical “Yours Truly, 2095” (with the great lyric “I met someone who looks a lot like you / She does the things you do / but she is an IBM”!), the laid-back harmonies of4 out of 4 stars “The Lights Go Down”, and “21st Century Man”. As always, most people will remember the album’s singles, “Twilight”, “Here Is The News”, and the coffee achiever song “Hold On Tight” (as in hold on tight to your dream). I highly recommend this one, as I do most ELO albums!

    Order this CD in the Store

  1. Prologue (1:16)
  2. Twilight (3:42)
  3. Yours Truly, 2095 (3:12)
  4. Ticket to the Moon (4:07)
  5. The Way Life’s Meant To Be (4:39)
  6. Another Heart Breaks (3:48)
  7. Rain Is Falling (3:55)
  8. From the End of the World (3:16)
  9. The Lights Go Down (3:34)
  10. Here Is The News (3:45)
  11. 21st Century Man (4:09)
  12. Hold On Tight (3:06)
  13. Epilogue (1:32)

Released by: Jet
Release date: 1981
Total running time: 44:01