Electric Light Orchestra – Face The Music

Electric Light Orchestra - Face The MusicRelax. The backward voice that booms through the intro of “Fire On High” is simply saying the famous phrase, “The music is reversible, but time is not,” and just between you and me, the voice treatment and the phrase itself sound like a Vorlon from Babylon 5 (not to mention that later ELO albums credited art and photography to someone simply named Kosh). In the meantime, this album marked the beginning of ELO’s more consciously commercial sound, which had 3 out of 4 starsmixed results. The all-time classic “Evil Woman” gets old after a while, but I could listen to “Strange Magic” for a long time. The best song on the album has to be the ballad “Waterfall”, and as for songs I could have done without…well, it could just be the fact that I’m all too familiar with the south, but “Down Home Town” just grates on my nerves…

    Order this CD in the Store

  1. Fire On High (5:30)
  2. Waterfall (4:27)
  3. Evil Woman (4:20)
  4. Nightrider (4:23)
  5. Poker (3:32)
  6. Strange Magic (4:30)
  7. Down Home Town (3:54)
  8. One Summer Dream (5:48)

Released by: Jet
Release date: 1975
Total running time: 36:24