Donald Fagen – The Nightfly

Donald Fagen - The NightflyWhether you realize it or not, you almost certainly heard this Steely Dan alum’s solo efforts in the early 80s. The lyrics promise “What a beautiful world this could be, what a glorious time to be free,” and the song is called “I.G.Y.” (which may explain why you’ve never been able to remember the title!). Famous for that single and the amusing “New Frontier” (whose lyrics concern an adolescent’s attempts to woo the girl of his dreams while they’re both stuck in a bomb shelter during a Cold War scare…!), The Nightfly is an 4 out of 4uncontested classic. Also included are a cover of “Ruby Baby”, and three seriously underrated would-be classics, “Maxine”, “The Goodbye Look”, and “Walk Between The Raindrops”. I highly recommend this beautiful synthesis of jazz and rock to you…if you’ve got the chops for it.

  1. I.G.Y. (6:05)
  2. Green Flower Street (3:40)
  3. Ruby Baby (5:38)
  4. Order this CD Maxine (3:50)
  5. New Frontier (6:23)
  6. The Nightfly (5:45)
  7. The Goodbye Look (4:47)
  8. Walk Between Raindrops (2:38)

Released by: Warner Bros.
Release date: 1982
Total running time: 38:46