Doctor Who: Music From The Sixth Doctor Audio AdventuresFollowing the success of its double disc compilation of music from the first four audio adventures featuring Paul McGann, Big Finish Productions decided that grouping its music compilations by Doctor and not by composer was the way to go. Hence, this collection of the original scores from three 2002 audio plays starring Colin Baker – two of which, musically speaking, were among 2002’s best.

Or maybe that’s three. I wasn’t that thrilled with Bloodtide as a story, but listening to the music by itself, I can see that I hadn’t given Alistair Lock enough credit for finding really obscure motifs to build the music around. In this case, he musically references the fluting three-note sounds emitted by the Silurian technology in 1970’s Doctor Who And The Silurians, as the bipedal reptiles are once again on the move in this story. Lock’s flair for making synth-orchestral textures sound realistic is evident here – it’s a very good listen.

Project Twilight‘s techno influence works well for that sinister modern-day story. As stand-alone music…well, if you haven’t already heard it and been enthralled by it in the context of the story itself, Jim Mortimore and Jane Elphinstone’s disturbing, heartbeat-and-piano-driven music may not do much for you. Even though I loved the music within the play, it could just be that all of the Twilight cues are too similar to one another to be heard all in one sitting. It’s good stuff though.

The One Doctor may just be Alistair Lock’s finest contribution yet to Doctor Who in its audio form. Cinematic and quirky, seldom have the music and the actors’ performances sold each other so well. One cue in particular, “The Cylinder”, strikes a dramatic chord powerful enough for any big-screen blockbuster, while others (such as the groan-inducing “Lonely Jelloid”) are hysterically funny, even when heard with no 4 out of 4dialogue or sound effects. If you think that the idea of listening to music from an audio-only drama production is silly, give The One Doctor a listen before swearing it off completely.

All in all, this just might be the best Big Finish music compilation yet. Highly recommended, along with Project Twilight and The One Doctor themselves.

Order this CD

  1. trailer: Bloodtide (1:04)
  2. Tried (2:57)
  3. Convicted (2:26)
  4. Into The Cell (2:31)
  5. Lost Brother (1:28)
  6. The Jailhouse (1:19)
  7. The Cave (1:20)
  8. Empty Cells (1:00)
  9. The Adult Myrka (1:16)
  10. Regressing Lawson (1:19)
  11. Deep Freeze (1:53)
  12. Goodbyes (0:49)
  13. trailer: Project Twilight (0:52)
  14. Bite Me (5:04)
  15. Corpuscle Free (4:39)
  16. Arrow To My Heart (3:52)
  17. Flow (8:41)
  18. trailer: The One Doctor (2:04)
  19. The Signal (1:12)
  20. Unheralded Arrival (0:40)
  21. Sokkery Celebrates (2:53)
  22. Doctor In The News (1:18)
  23. Banto’s Scam (1:23)
  24. The Two Many Doctors (1:03)
  25. The Cylinder (1:43)
  26. Finding ZX419 (2:15)
  27. Mel’s Christmas Story (1:31)
  28. The Assemblers (1:14)
  29. Challenge Mentos (2:17)
  30. The Lonely Jelloid (2:54)
  31. The Treasures (1:31)
  32. One Doctor Identified (1:09)
  33. Sally Meets The Fans (1:28)
  34. The One Doctor (1:11)

Released by: Big Finish Productions
Release date: 2002
Total running time: 71:36