Doctor Who: Ghost Light – music by Mark Ayres

Doctor Who: Ghost Light soundtrackAnother 1989 Doctor Who story scored by Mark Ayres, this music follows closely the synth-symphonic style of Curse Of Fenric, though the shadows are cast at a different angle. That’s an oblique way of saying that both discs contain very dark music settings, but this one relies on different elements than Fenric. Where Fenric‘s style owes a little something to the John Williams school of film music, Ghost Light‘s music is more eerie and horrific, depending on primitive percussion samples, unearthly sounds, and a lot of pipe organ and choral samples. If anything, 4 out of 4Ghost Light is more operatic and depends more on mood and suspense than all-out action. Both have merited addition to the Damn Near Perfect Album List.

  1. The Madhouse (3:44)
  2. Redvers, I Presume? (0:43)
  3. Uncharted Territory (1:42)
  4. Heart of the Interior (2:19)
  5. Order this CD Enter Josiah (0:28)
  6. Indoor Lightning (1:39)
  7. Nimrod Observed (1:02)
  8. Time To Emerge (1:23)
  9. Burnt Toast (1:37)
  10. Ace’s Adventures Underground (4:36)
  11. Where Is Mamma? (0:44)
  12. Loss of Control (3:34)
  13. The Way to the Zoo (1:54)
  14. The Memory Teller (1:51)
  15. Lighting the Touchpaper (1:11)
  16. Homo Victorianus Ineptus (1:19)
  17. Out of the Shadows (4:03)
  18. Light Enlightened (1:58)
  19. Tropic of Perivale (2:10)
  20. Tricks of the Light (4:29)
  21. Judgement in Stone (2:19)
  22. Reqiuem (5:03)
  23. Passing Thoughts (1:26)

Released by: Silva Screen
Release date: 1993
Total running time: 51:14