Crowded House – Recurring Dream: The Very Best Of

Recurring Dream: The Very Best of Crowded HouseThis bittersweet final album from the band that was the genesis of my fascination with Split Enz and the Finn Brothers is quite a collection; almost exactly like the Alan Parsons live album, I only got this one on the virtue of its three new tracks (don’t you hate it when they do that, and you’ve got to buy those other sixteen songs you’ve already heard…oh, never mind…), but I thought I’d comment on the selection of past tracks as well as the new songs. The three new tunes, “Not The Girl You Think You Are”, “Instinct” and “Everything Is Good For You”, are excellent, if somewhat atypical of the signature sound of Crowded House that fills out the rest of the album. They sound very much like they came from the Finn Brothers sessions, and a glance at the liner notes revealed that they were recorded in the same studio. All three also have a distinctly Beatlesque sound, especially “Not The Girl You Think You Are”. But that is by no means a fault – they’re still nifty new tunes. The remainder of the album has one of the best lineups of material I have ever seen on a compilation – truly the best of, including the singles “Don’t Dream It’s Over”, “Something So Strong” and “Better Be Home Soon” as well as the mesmerizing “Weather With You”, one of my favorites from 1991’s Woodface. Other personal faves of mine here are rating: 4 out of 4“Into Temptation”, “Fall At Your Feet”, and “Pineapple Head”. Highly recommended for those not familiar with the band or without the complete collection. Of the new songs I have to peg “Not The Girl You Think You Are” for its very unusual combination of elements that sound equally like Crowded House and Fab Four.

Order this CD

  1. Weather With You (3:45)
  2. World Where You Live (3:06)
  3. Fall At Your Feet (3:18)
  4. Locked Out (3:19)
  5. Don’t Dream It’s Over (3:55)
  6. Into Temptation (4:35)
  7. Pineapple Head (3:28)
  8. When You Come (4:44)
  9. Private Universe (5:36)
  10. Not The Girl You Think You Are (4:09)
  11. Instinct (3:08)
  12. I Feel Possessed (3:48)
  13. Four Seasons In One Day (2:49)
  14. It’s Only Natural (3:32)
  15. Distant Sun (3:51)
  16. Something So Strong (2:52)
  17. Mean To Me (3:15)
  18. Better Be Home Soon (3:10)
  19. Everything Is Good For You (3:57)

Released by: Capitol
Release date: 1996
Total running time: 70:19