Simple Minds – Glittering Prize (The Best of: 1982-1991)

Simple Minds - Glittering Prize (The Best of: 1982-1991)Hey, admit it. You, like myself, probably remember Simple Minds mainly for “that song from The Breakfast Club” – right? Sure, we all do! You’ll be pleased to know that “Don’t You Forget About Me” is included, as are other frequent airplay fliers “Sanctify Yourself” and “Alive And Kicking”, the latter of which has always bugged me because of the way Jim Kerr sings “aaaaaaah-live and kicking.” It’s a weird hangup, yes, but it’s also an awkward emphasis on an 3 out of 4unusual syllable! Overall, it’s a good collection, including a lot of songs that casual listeners will find less familiar, but that’s compilation albums for you.

  1. Alive and Kicking (4:46)
  2. See the Lights (4:22)
  3. Don’t You (Forget About Me) (4:20)
  4. Promised You a Miracle (3:58)
  5. Order this CD Sanctify Yourself (3:55)
  6. Belfast Child (6:39)
  7. Stand By Love (4:06)
  8. Up On The Catwalk (4:06)
  9. Let There Be Love (4:42)
  10. All The Things She Said (4:16)
  11. Someone, Somewhere in Summertime (4:36)
  12. Waterfront (4:48)

Released by: Virgin
Release date: 1992
Total running time: 54:49