Fleetwood Mac – Rumours

Fleetwood Mac - RumoursIf you’re going to vomit from hearing about the Fleetwood Mac album with “Don’t Stop” on it, maybe you’d better move along to the review of Mirage. Actually, I’ve always thought “Don’t Stop” and “Go Your Own Way” are both overplayed and overrated. Of much more interest to me is the classic early Lindsey Buckingham material (specifically “Second Hand News” and “Never Going Back Again”) and the fact that I actually liked Stevie Nicks’ songs on this album. I can’t tell you how much I do not like 4 out of 4her later stuff, especially once she got into the whole “Gypsy” image a little too deep. In fact, aside from those overexposed singles I mentioned above, there are few things about this album that I don’t like. The best song is easily Christine McVie’s beautiful “Songbird”.

Order this CD

  1. Second Hand News (2:43)
  2. Dreams (4:14)
  3. Never Going Back Again (2:02)
  4. Don’t Stop (3:11)
  5. Go Your Own Way (3:38)
  6. Songbird (3:20)
  7. The Chain (4:28)
  8. You Make Loving Fun (3:31)
  9. I Don’t Want To Know (3:11)
  10. Oh Daddy (3:54)
  11. Gold Dust Woman (4:51)

Released by: Warner Bros.
Release date: 1977
Total running time: 39:03

Tim Finn

Tim FinnThis is one of an elite handful of items to make my DNP Album list, and with good reason – it’s bloody fantastic. The ten songs on here are all safe in the hands of Tim Finn, and the album was produced by Mitchell Froom, who also produced the first three Crowded House albums. His expertise and Tim’s performances are a perfect match, and the songs aren’t bad either. The exotic southern Pacific and Indian percussion and instrumentation are used just enough to give this album a texture unlike anything I’ve ever 4 out of 4heard before. Listen close for “Tears Inside”, “Crescendo”, “Not Even Close”, “How’m I Gonna Sleep” and “Young Mountain”. And the other half of the album isn’t bad either! Highest recommendations – one of the finest pop/rock albums I’ve ever heard.

Order this CD

  1. Young Mountain (4:19)
  2. Not Even Close (4:19)
  3. How’m I Gonna Sleep (3:56)
  4. Parihaka (4:20)
  5. Tears Inside (4:04)
  6. Birds Swim, Fish Fly (3:25)
  7. Suicide On Downing St. (3:32)
  8. Show A Little Mercy (4:01)
  9. Crescendo (4:18)
  10. Been There, Done That (4:07)

Released by: Capitol
Release date: 1989
Total running time: 40:21