Brent Bourgeois – Come Join The Living World

Brent Bourgeois - Come Join The Living World I hadn’t heard anything out of Brent since his awful second solo project, A Matter of Feel, when I found this album quite by accident in 1995. It arrived at a radio station being run in the same building where I worked, and though it qualifies as contemporary Christian, it wasn’t suitable for the station’s country-gospel format so they were glad to part with it. I found it an interesting switch from Brent’s previous material, but in retrospect, with his first two solo albums’ abundance of songs about alcohol abuse and so on, it’s not much of a surprise. There are three songs I have to single out as favorites: “One Love”, with its very well-arranged harmonies and some really catchy lyrics and music, the James-Taylor-ish “All Is Well”, and my favorite, “Let His Love Into Your Heart”, an acoustic guitar and piano piece that was composed by Bourgeois and guitarist Lyle Workman – the same two guys responsible for “I Don’t Mind At All” from the Yoyo album by Rating: 3 out of 4Bourgeois Tagg. The lyrics and the music are beautiful, and the minimalistic arrangement is perfect. I highly recommend this one. My one peeve is the song “God Is Not Dead”, which sounds so similar to Todd Rundgren’s “Miracle In The Bazaar” from A Capella, it’s just uncanny. The two songs could be segued one into the other seamlessly…and the only clue would be that Rundgren is praising Allah in his song…

Order this CD in the Store

  1. One Love (4:01)
  2. A Little More Like Jesus (4:29)
  3. All Is Well (4:02)
  4. Total Surrender (3:46)
  5. Restored (4:13)
  6. Perfect Harmony (4:55)
  7. Blessed Be The Name (4:41)
  8. Let His Love Into Your Heart (4:30)
  9. God Is Not Dead (3:34)
  10. Come Home To Me (4:43)

Released by: Reunion
Release date: 1994
Total running time: 43:01

Brent Bourgeois

Brent BourgeoisThe only thing from this album that anyone seems to recall is the horrid remake of the Zombies’ “Time Of The Season”. That’s a pity, because there’s much better material here that never hit the radio airwaves, and none of it delves to the banality of the cover of the aforementioned ’60s tune. Most of the good stuff comes early on, such as the rough “The Real Thing”, bemoaning the lifestyle of the working father, and the western-tinged “Compromise” (which I suspect laments the fate of Bourgeois Tagg). Other high Rating: 4 out of 4points are the rocking “Wild Child” and “Can’t Feel the Pain”, a beautifully harmonized duet with Fleetwood Mac’s Christine McVie. Another highlight is a song which I’d best refer to here as “Out Of Luck” since that’s what the disc label itself calls it, though the jewel box track listings add the “s” word to the title. I highly recommend the whole album!

Order this CD in the Store

  1. The Real Things (4:18)
  2. Compromise (3:57)
  3. Dare To Fall In Love (4:05)
  4. Can’t Feel the Pain (4:04)
  5. Scene of the Crime (5:07)
  6. Wild Child (4:17)
  7. Evil Run Riot (4:07)
  8. My Little Island (2:53)
  9. Time of the Season (3:49)
  10. Shit Out Of Luck (4:27)
  11. A Long Way From Home (4:57)

Released by: Charisma
Release date: 1990
Total running time: 46:01