Birdy – music by Peter Gabriel

Birdy soundtrackSince this movie soundtrack is constructed out of instrumental versions of material from the third Peter Gabriel album and Security, it may seem like a redundant purchase, but there are several new tracks, and even the familiar tunes are interesting to hear without the words (especially – go ahead and yawn here if you like – an instrumental version of “Rhythm Of The Heat”). Probably the best track here is “Birdy’s Flight”, which is essentially a long, somber intro and then the pulse-pounding 3 out of 4ending from the song “Not One Of Us”, and let me tell you, it’s quite a rush. Whew.

  1. At Night (2:38)
  2. Floating Dogs (2:55)
  3. Quiet and Alone (2:30)
  4. Close Up – derived from “Family Snapshot” (0:58)
  5. Slow Water (2:51)
  6. Order this CD Dressing the Wound (4:06)
  7. Birdy’s Flight – derived from “Not One Of Us” (2:58)
  8. Slow Marimbas (3:21)
  9. The Heat – derived from “Rhythm of the Heat” (4:41)
  10. Sketchpad with Trumpet and Voice (3:05)
  11. Under Lock and Key – derived from “Wallflower” (2:28)
  12. Powerhouse at the Foot of the Mountain – derived from “San Jacinto” (2:19)

Released by: Geffen
Release date: 1985
Total running time: 35:39