Art of Noise – In No Sense? Nonsense!

In No Sense? Nonsense!If nothing else, you’ll remember the Dragnet theme from the Dan Aykroyd film reworking of the TV show from this album, but even the Art of Noise’s predilection for rehashing TV cop show tunes can’t save this album. Don’t get me wrong, it’s all skillfully executed and technically proficient, but for my tastes, the Art of Noise was closer to the edge than usual, bordering on pointless noise instead of making avant-garde music. There are a handful of wonderful tunes, including “One World” (one of the group’s best ever), the Rating: 2 out of 4immensely soothing “Crusoe” (not to be confused with their “Robinson Crusoe” remake on the following album), and the boisterous “Day At The Races”. But when most of the rest of the disc is filled with repetitions of the same samples, I find it hard to recommend.

    Order this CD in the Store

  1. Galleons of Stone (1:11)
  2. Dragnet (3:27)
  3. Fin Du Temps (2:04)
  4. How Rapid? (0:51)
  5. Opus for Four (3:11)
  6. Debut (1:56)
  7. E.F.L. (5:23)
  8. A Day at the Races (4:00)
  9. Ode to Don Jos` (4:13)
  10. Counterpoint (0:56)
  11. Roundabout 727 (0:44)
  12. Ransom on the Sand (1:16)
  13. Roller 1 (3:30)
  14. Nothing Was Going To Stop Them Then, Anyway (0:44)
  15. Crusoe (3:55)
  16. One Earth (4:08)

Released by: China Records
Release date: 1987
Total running time: 41:29