Stargate SG-1 (Richard Band / 2-CD set, Intrada)

Hailing frequencies open… Forums Media Music Soundtracks Stargate SG-1 (Richard Band / 2-CD set, Intrada)

Viewing 2 posts - 1 through 2 (of 2 total)
  • Author
  • #19819
    • Offline

    Been a long time since any music from this franchise was released…and this release seems to be here solely to remind us that it wasn’t all Joel Goldsmith, all the time. [LINK] I’ve added this title to the store, though it’s not available at yet.

    Stargate SG-1

    World premiere, in depth look at Richard Band music for highly successful MGM TV series Stargate SG-1! Adaptation by Jonathan Glassner, Brad Wright of exciting 1994 sci-fi fantasy film from Dean Devlin, Roland Emmerich became phenomenally popular television series lasting ten seasons and spawning two spinoffs. Richard Band scored several episodes across the first two seasons in 1997 & 1998. Using a compositional palette of synthesizers augmented by small instrumental ensembles, Band fashioned evocative sci-fi soundscapes with a degree of symphonic architecture. Melodies both haunting, dramatic trade with exciting action cues, militaristic percussion sequences. Band’s harmonic vocabulary melds rich, highly accessible chordal ideas with intense, aggressive vernacular to create unusually wide range of material. Intrada 2-CD release, mastered from two-track digital scoring session mixes, courtesy MGM, features not just brief excerpts but fully-developed “suites” from three separate episodes plus entire finale written for a fourth program that otherwise did not feature further original Richard Band music. Informative notes by Jeff Bond feature inside booklet, original MGM series artwork features in “flipper-style” cover design by Kay Marshall. Richard Band composes, orchestrates. Intrada Special Collection 2-CD set available while quantities and interest remain!

    [CD 1]
    01. Teaser (3:42)
    02. Is It Really Jack? (3:53)
    03. Jack At Ex-Wife’s House (3:25)
    04. Jack Visits Charlie’s Room (3:24)
    05. The Crystals (2:14)
    06. The Crystal Monitor (2:18)
    07. Jack And Wife On Park Bench (3:08)
    08. They Re-Activate The Crystal Monitor (2:03)
    09. Pushing Back Through Gate To Hospital (3:53)
    10. Jack Meets Alien Self And Finale (9:10)
    Total Time: 37:22

    11. Teaser (2:50)
    12. Medical Time (3:12)
    13. O’Neill Comforts Cassie (3:05)
    14. O’Neill To Burn Victim (0:38)
    15. Teal’c Gives O’Neill Advice (2:28)
    16. Daniel Talks To Girl Survivor (2:07)
    17. Bad Guy Bandages Doc (2:20)
    18. Daniel Talks To Alien Carter (2:26)
    19. Finale – Daniel And Then Others Visit (10:11)
    Total Time: 29:36
    CD 1 Total Time: 67:01

    CD 2]
    01. Finale (8:50)
    Total Time: 8:54)

    02. Teaser (3:34)
    03. From Stargate To New World (2:36)
    04. Sam With Girl And Back Through Gate (2:49)
    05. Sam And Little Girl Get Closer (2:58)
    06. Heart Attack And Operation (3:36)
    07. Jack And Teal’c Escaping Battle (4:22)
    08. To The Underground Site (2:35)
    09. Time Is Up And Finale (8:26)
    Total Time: 31:04
    CD 2 Total Time: 40:01

    Grateful for the flipper cover – not a fan of the “updated, more modern” marketing design that also graced the most recent DVD releases. The reverse cover not only sports the show’s actual logo, but its mostly-blue palette goes nicely with the single CD of SG-1 music released many years ago by GNP Crescendo.

    I wonder if further Stargate music might be in the offing if this sells well? Like, say, SGU?

    • Online

    I wonder if further Stargate music might be in the offing if this sells well? Like, say, SGU?

    ME WANT SGU SOUNDTRACK! Make it so! (Oops, wrong franchise)

Viewing 2 posts - 1 through 2 (of 2 total)
  • You must be logged in to reply to this topic.