Liam Finn – The Nihilist

Hailing frequencies open… Forums Media Music Mr. Catalyst Liam Finn – The Nihilist


Viewing 2 posts - 1 through 2 (of 2 total)
  • Author
  • #1169
    • Offline

    You know, maybe I’m just really, really old-fashioned, but I thought the first rule of putting out a single was to make sure that it has a title a DJ can announce on the radio without drawing an FCC fine. [LINK]

    Liam Finn will return this year with his third studio album. Dubbed The Nihilist, the 12-track LP is set for an April 8 release via Yep Roc Records. Finn, whose dad is Neil Finn of Crowded House and Split Enz, recorded the follow-up to 2011’s FOMO in a Brooklyn studio overlooking the Manhattan skyline.

    “As soon as I found my own space to bunker down, the songs started taking shape,” the New Zealand-bred singer-songwriter says in a statement. “There was a surreal feeling created through the energy of where I was and looking over at Manhattan and seeing it as a subconscious dimension, an entity in itself where every story under the sun was happening all at once. Any fantasy or fear you have in your own mind is probably playing out in reality in Manhattan at any one time.”

    The Nihilist track list:

    1. “Ocean Emmanuelle”
    2. “The Nihilist”
    3. “Snug as F**k”
    4. “Helena Bonham Carter”
    5. “Burn Up the Road”
    6. “Drearydroop”
    7. “Miracle Glance”
    8. “4 Track Stomper”
    9. “Arrow”
    10. “I”
    11. “Wild Animal”
    12. “Wrestle With Dad”

    You can also listen to a stream of the lead single, “Snug As F**k”, at the above link.


    And here’s the video… for Liam’s… snuggly song. Very weird video, lovely song; it’s a pity it’s all but guaranteed no airplay anywhere because of the title/lyrics.

    It would appear the release date has been pushed back by another month into May.

Viewing 2 posts - 1 through 2 (of 2 total)
  • You must be logged in to reply to this topic.