Intrada launches series of Classic Galactica soundtracks

Hailing frequencies open… Forums Media Music Soundtracks Intrada launches series of Classic Galactica soundtracks

Viewing 1 post (of 1 total)
  • Author
  • #10209
    • Offline

    …starting with the pilot movie, now available.

    World premiere release of complete Stu Phillips soundtrack from 3-hour pilot episode of costly, spectacular Universal sci-fi series starring Lorne Greene, Richard Hatch. Complete 1/2″ multi-track stereo session masters survive in perfect condition in vaults at NBC Universal, including all format music (main titles, bumpers). This first volume in ambitious CD series focuses on entire pilot score, includes both original opening sequence plus post-production edited version as well as composer’s lively disco source cues heard during Carillon sequence, also presented in stereo. (“Love, Love, Love” vocal was not written by Phillips and was recorded elsewhere. It is not included here due to contractual reasons.) Phillip’s prepared a 40-minute LP in 1978 using meld of soundtrack performances by full Los Angeles Philharmonic Orchestra, made at 20th Century-Fox Studios Scoring Stage, plus re-recorded cues by same players at later sessions.) Intrada CD presents every cue from LAPO recording sessions, premieres wealth of previously unreleased stereo music. For some episodes of single-season show, Universal commissioned new scores, recorded at Universal Scoring Stage with orchestras ranging from roughly 20-40 players, while other episodes simply tracked existing material. Multi-track stereo session masters were retained for many newly-scored episodes with other episodes stored in pristine condition on 1/4″ mono formats only. Future volumes of this exciting Intrada series will cover remaining episodes from stereo session elements when they were made plus mono session masters when those were the only recordings prepared. (TV series, of course, was produced and broadcast only in mono back in 1978-79.) Stu Phillips supervised new digital mixes at Universal and editing sessions at Intrada, producing this definitive CD presentation of his landmark and justifiably famous score. Stu Phillips conducts Los Angeles Philharmonic Orchestra. First volume in series, released as part of Intrada Special Collection and limited to 3000 copies!

    And the track list:

    01. Theme From “Battlestar Galactica” 3:36
    02. Exploration 3:36
    03. Launch 1:11
    04. Cylon Freighter 5:52
    05. End Of The Atlantia 2:06
    06. Imperious Leader 1:16
    07. Destruction Of Peace 3:37
    08. My God! 0:07
    09. Residue Of War 4:00
    10. Exodus One 1:35
    11. Boxey And Serena 2:59
    12. Cylon Base Ship 1:20
    13. Extermination 1:33
    14. Suffering 1:55
    15. Cassopeia And Starbuck 1:03
    16. Conspiracy Of Silence 0:16
    17. Boxey’s Problem 1:25
    18. Uri – The Politician 0:31
    19. The Death Of Baltar 0:07
    20. Follow Me 0:11
    21. Senseless Killing 2:56
    22. Sex At Last 2:10
    23. The Ready Room 1:25
    24. Mines… Red Nova 2:35
    25. Arrival On Carillon 0:43
    26. Dark Shadows 1:32
    27. Outer Space Disco 2:35
    28. Captured 0:55
    29. Ovion Lyre 0:44
    30. Adama’s Narrative 1:05
    31. Galactic Rock 2:51
    32. Elevator Trouble 1:07
    33. Contempt 1:00
    34. Missed Her Level 0:18
    35. Cubit Shuffle 3:34
    36. Escape From The Ovion Mines 3:49
    37. Dash To The Elevator 1:07
    38. Scramble To Safety 1:13
    39. Red And Blue – Purple And Orange 2:41
    40. “Let’s Go Home” 1:09
    41. Exploration [TV Edit With Theme] 3:35
    42. Battlestar Galactica Bumper 0:10

    The track list is very much like the first disc of a legendarily hard-to-find BSG 4-disc box set, but when I looked that set’s track listing up online, it appears that the general-release Intrada version (if indeed one can call a 3000-copy limited edition a general release) trumps by by 10+ tracks. And as with Intrada’s re-release of Philips’ Buck Rogers soundtrack, the remastering and the booklet are worth the price of admission. The only other options are the 25th anniversary release – with only a fraction of these tracks and it’s actually a re-recording, not the original session – or tracking down the import CD version of the LP, which is hard to locate too.
    It can be ordered directly from Intrada here. :toaster:

Viewing 1 post (of 1 total)
  • You must be logged in to reply to this topic.