Dr. Who 2009 Specials OST in Sept., 2010 season OST in Nov.

Hailing frequencies open… Forums Media Music Soundtracks Dr. Who 2009 Specials OST in Sept., 2010 season OST in Nov.

Viewing 11 posts - 1 through 11 (of 11 total)
  • Author
  • #10076
    • Offline

    Featuring music from The Next Doctor, Planet Of The Dead, Waters of Mars and of course The End Of Time. My prediction: everyone will get this and just forward straight to the Tennant-regenerating-into-Smith music and put it on repeat all day. :10th:

    If you are gonna get it though, feel free to pre-order it from theLogBook.com Store. It ships in the UK in September, no idea on a US date, but surely it won’t be far behind. Hopefully an announcement on the soundtrack from the first Matt Smith season is coming soon.


    …and changed the thread subject to reflect the announcement (via Silva Screen’s Facebook fan page) that the soundtrack for the first Matt Smith season is due in November.

    This fall is looking like a busy soundtrack season. And an awesome one.


    Depending on how you read one of Murray Gold’s latest Twitter posts, it looks like the Tennant specials soundtrack may be 2 CDs for the price of one. (Honestly, I didn’t think there was that much new music in the specials…)


    Cover artwork for the Tennant specials 2-CD set:


    Track listing for the Specials set:

    Disc One

    1. Vale

    The Next Doctor

    2. A Victorian Christmas
    3. Not the Doctor
    4. A Bit of a Drag
    5. In the Sea of Memory
    6. Hidden in the Closet
    7. The Wonder of Balloons
    8. A Forceful Intelligence
    9. The Greats of Past Time
    10. The March of the Cybermen
    11. Goodbyes

    Planet of the Dead

    12. A Disturbance in the Night
    13. The Cat Burglar
    14. Alone in the Desert
    15. A Special Sort of Bus
    16. Stirring in the Sands
    17. Lithuania

    The Waters of Mars

    18. Letter to Earth
    19. By Water Borne …
    20. The Fate of Little Adelaide
    21. Altering Lives

    Disc Two

    The End of Time

    1. We Shall Fare Well
    2. A Frosty Ood
    3. A Dream of Catastrophe
    4. All in the Balance
    5. A Ruined Gaol
    6. Wilf’s Wiggle
    7. Minnie Hooper
    8. The End Draws Near
    9. Gallifrey
    10. Final Days
    11. The Council of the Time Lords
    12. The Master Suite
    13. The Ruined Childhood
    14. A Chaotic Escape
    15. The World Waits
    16. A Longing to Leave
    17. A Lot of Life Behind Us
    18. Dealing with the Menace
    19. Speeding to Earth
    20. The Time Lords’ Last Stand
    21. The Clouds Pass
    22. Four Knocks
    23. Song for Ten (Reprise)
    24. Vale Decem
    25. Vale
    26. The New Doctor


    The series 5 soundtrack from Matt Smith’s first season drops on November 8th, alongside the DVD/BD release in the UK. Still no word on either soundtrack’s US release date. I’ve added pre-order links to the Doctor Who soundtracks page in theLogBook.com Store, though the US/Canadian links probably won’t be active until there’s a street date.


    The Series 4 Specials 2-CD set has been delayed until October for reasons unknown. :wait:


    Amazon UK has posted cover artwork for the series 5 soundtrack, though something about this is screaming “Fan-made” at me – or, at the very least, “not final artwork from the label.”

    OK…the fonts are all wrong, for one thing. The current “marketing font” for Doctor Who is called Gazz Regular (and it ain’t cheap). I’d imagine that the text on an actual cover would look like this (in Gazz Regular):

    …rather than the font used above, which is called Agency incidentally. This cover lacks “ORIGINAL TELEVISION SOUNDTRACK” at the top, and the resolution and color aren’t anything like what you see on the Series 4 Specials cover artwork earlier in the thread. There’s also an oddball extra space between “The BBC National Orchestra of” and “Wales”. My instincts say: crappy Photoshopping.

    In any case, I’ll be happy to have whatever music goes with whatever cover comes with it… but I’ll be very surprised if this is the final cover, or even official for that matter.


    News flash! The series 5 soundtrack is also a 2-CD set. Wow!


    1. Doctor Who XI

    2. Down To Earth
    3. Little Amy
    4. Fish Custard
    5. Can I Come With You?
    6. Little Amy: The Apple
    7. The Sun’s Gone Wibbly
    8. Zero
    9. I Am The Doctor
    10. The Mad Man With A Box
    11. Amy In The TARDIS

    12. The Beast Below
    13. Amy’s Theme
    14. A Lonely Decision

    15. A Tyrannical Menace
    16. Victory Of The Daleks
    17. Battle In The Sky

    18. River’s Path
    19. The Time Of Angels

    20. I Offer You My Daughter
    21. Chicken Casanova
    22. Signora Rosanna Calvierri
    23. Cab For Amy Pond
    24. The Vampires Of Venice

    25. Wedded Bliss
    26. The Dream

    27. Rio de Cwmtaff
    28. The Silurians


    1. Paint
    2. Vincent
    3. Hidden Treasures
    4. A Troubled Man
    5. With Love, Vincent

    6. Adrift In The TARDIS
    7. Friends And Neighbours
    8. Doctor Gastronomy
    9. You Must Like It Here
    10. A Useful Striker
    11. A Painful Exchange
    12. Kiss The Girl
    13. Thank You Craig

    14. River Runs Through It
    15. Away On Horseback
    16. Beneath Stonehenge
    17. Who Else Is Coming
    18. Amy And Rory
    19. The Pandorica
    20. Words Win Wars
    21. The Life And Death Of Amy Pond
    22. Amy’s Starless Life
    23. Into The Museum
    24. This Is Where It Gets Complicated
    25. Roman Paradox
    26. The Patient Centurion
    27. The Same Sonic
    28. Honey I’m Home
    29. The Perfect Prison
    30. A River Of Tears
    31. The Sad Man With A Box
    32. You And Me, Amy
    33. The Big Day
    34. I remember You
    35. Onwards!


    …and apparently we get the soundtrack to this year’s Christmas special on CD (or download) in February. Is everyone getting enough music outta this show? That’ll be five CDs in about as many months.


    It’s been delayed until March 21st, but here’s the cover and tracklisting.

    1. Come Along Pond
    2 .Halfway Out Of The Dark
    3. Pray For A Miracle
    4. Geoff
    5. You Didn’t Hit The Boy
    6. Fish
    7. Kazran Sardick 12 1/2
    8. Ghost Of Christmas Past
    9. Babysitter
    10. Talk About Girls
    11. Sonic Fishing
    12. Just A Little One
    13. Big Colour
    14. I Can’t Save Her
    15. The Other Half’s Inside The Shark
    16. Abigail
    17. He Comes Every Christmas
    18. Shark Ride
    19. New Memories
    20. Holding Hands
    21. Christmas Dinner
    22. Goodlucknight
    23. Goodnight Abigail
    24. This Planet Is Ours
    25. Ghost Of Christmas Present
    26. The Course Of My Life
    27. Ghost Of Christmas Future
    28. Abigail’s Song (Silence Is All You Know) – performed by Katherine Jenkins
    29. Everything Has To End Some Time

Viewing 11 posts - 1 through 11 (of 11 total)
  • You must be logged in to reply to this topic.