The Innocent Sleep – music by Mark Ayres

The Innocent Sleep soundtrackSo I wonder – with the sound of acoustic instruments being predominant on this soundtrack, is this Mark Ayres plugged in or unplugged? Perhaps a little of both. Either way, it’s a striking change from his past work, from the hauntingly wistful operatic motif of the main theme, to the pounding action scenes, all of them avoiding the many mistakes of recent film scores and establishing a very distinct character for the sound of the movie and Ayres’ own musical style. I’ve said it before, and perhaps now with a somewhat more mainstream film on his resumè, I can say it again more forcefully – Mark Ayres is definitely one to watch. Or listen to, at any rate. One seemingly minor thing I loved about this score is one particular motif which zig-zags around major and minor keys, never resolving to either one, a series of four chords 4 out of 4which somehow manages to ascend and descend at the same time. It’s a beguiling little piece of music which appears in a number of cues, and it’s that kind of music, which manages to be intriguing both emotionally and structurally, that makes this an appealing album.

Order this CD

  1. Il Sonno Innocente / The Innocent Sleep main title (2:49)
  2. The Old Site (1:27)
  3. Lusano / The Execution (4:56)
  4. Warehouse Chase (2:46)
  5. Riverside / Nightmare / Police Station (5:23)
  6. Jail Break (3:21)
  7. Billie / A Word With Willie (1:01)
  8. Cavani / Billie Meets Alan – Il Sonno Innocente (1:50)
  9. Alan Calls Home (3:12)
  10. Arson (2:40)
  11. Hospital / Alan at Billie’s Place (3:47)
  12. Press Conference (4:24)
  13. “Today In Focus” (1:26)
  14. Ears to the Ground / Motorbike Chase (2:42)
  15. Cavani Flies In (3:45)
  16. A Revelation and a Death (1:31)
  17. “Anybody But Stephens” / A Man for a Crisis (4:27)
  18. “Tutto Pusto” (4:49)
  19. Ashes – Il Sonno Innocente (2:21)

Released by: Silva Screen
Release date: 1995
Total running time: 59:04