Split Enz – Frenzy

Split Enz - FrenzyThis was the first hint of the studio-polished Enz as well as the first glimpse of a much heavier, more electric sound to come. When this album was recorded, things were not going well for the band – they were stranded in England, broke, and shortly after their studio sessions, their instruments and equipment were lost in a fire just before a concert date in support of the new album. The resulting frustrations and tensions are evident on the music, which is harder-hitting all around. Neil Finn begins to make his voice 2 out of 4heard on this album, which offers a preview of the band’s style in the 80s. The best bits from Frenzy include the Tim & Neil collaboration “Give It A Whirl”, the poignant “Stuff And Nonsense”, and the uncharacteristically heavy “Abu Dhabi” and “Mind Over Matter”.

Order this CD

  1. I See Red (3:17)
  2. Give It A Whirl (2:51)
  3. Master Plan (3:09)
  4. Famous People (2:53)
  5. Hermit McDermitt (4:09)
  6. Stuff and Nonsense (4:26)
  7. Marooned (2:51)
  8. Frenzy (3:03)
  9. The Roughest Toughest Game in the World (3:43)
  10. She Got Body She Got Soul (2:56)
  11. Betty (4:43)
  12. Abu Dhabi (4:32)
  13. Mind Over Matter (2:57)

Released by: Mushroom
Release date: 1979
Total running time: 45:30