Ray Lynch – No Blue Thing

Ray Lynch - No Blue ThingThis is really my favorite Ray Lynch album, but I’m afraid that isn’t saying much. I find so much so-called “new age” music to be repetitive, meandering, and in many cases just plain boring. No Blue Thing is often repetitive and meandering, but at least it barely avoids the trap of being boring. By adding a small chamber string ensemble to some of the largely synthesized pieces, Lynch’s music takes on a much more interesting quality than usual. Sadly, that’s the exception rather than the rule.

2 out of 4

  1. No Blue Thing (5:35)
  2. Clouds Below Your Knees (4:40)
  3. Here & Never Found (4:44)
  4. Drifted in a Deeper Land (7:22)
  5. Homeward at Last (3:38)
  6. Order this CD Evenings, Yes (4:52)
  7. The True Spirit of Mom & Dad (8:05)

Released by: Windham Hill
Release date: 1989
Total running time: 38:56