Peter Gabriel – Peter Gabriel IV (a.k.a. Security)

Peter Gabriel IV (a.k.a. Security)If for no other reason than “Rhythm Of The Heat”, I have to recommend this album right off the bat. I always love some exotic percussion, and while Peter Gabriel’s always very good about including that element in his music, this song uses all of its elements and elevates itself to something barely short of a spiritual experience. Boy…let’s see, what else? Oh yeah, there are seven other songs on this album too, including the single “Shock The Monkey”, and none of these other tracks are anything to sneeze at, but it’s hard 3 out of 4to top “Rhythm Of The Heat”. I almost wonder if it shouldn’t have been the last song on the album instead of the first, because all that musical exhilaration always leaves me a little exhausted. Whew.

  1. The Rhythm of the Heat (5:15)
  2. San Jacinto (6:21)
  3. I Have The Touch (4:30)
  4. The Family and the Fishing Net (7:00)
  5. Order this CD Shock the Monkey (5:23)
  6. Lay Your Hands On Me (6:03)
  7. Wallflower (6:30)
  8. Kiss of Life (4:17)

Released by: Geffen
Release date: 1982
Total running time: 45:19