James Darren - This One's From The HeartJimmy Darren is back, baby! Inspired by his two-season stint as swingin’ holographic lounge singer Vic Fontaine on Star Trek: Deep Space Nine, Darren has graced our CD shelves with this collection of oldies. Many of these songs were performed by Darren’s character in the Trek spinoff, while others are songs from the same period of American popular songwriting. Whichever category they fall into, all of the songs are safe in Darren’s capable hands. He’s never sounded better, and the big band backing him up gives that sound a classy boost.

Among this album’s highlights are excellent renditions of “It’s Only A Paper Moon” (used in an outstanding DS9 episode of the same name), “I’ve Got The World On A String” (heard in the same episode), “The Way You Look Tonight” (heard just before things went to hell – literally – in the series finale), “Here’s To The Losers”, “The Best Is Yet To Come” (sorry, no Avery Brooks duet), and “I’ve Got You Under My Skin”. Though these songs have been made immortal by Ol’ Blue Eyes and others, Darren makes them his own here. His delivery has never been smoother. It’s enough to make you wonder why he’s wasting his time on Hollywood when he can sing like this – but then again, as the liner notes repeatedly acknowledge, he might not have gotten around to re-rating: 4 out of 4igniting his singing career had he not been cast in the role of Vic Fontaine.

Whether you’re a Trek fan who really dug Darren’s recurring guest shots on Deep Space Nine, or a longtime Darren devotee who’s been wondering whatever happened to Jimmy since “Goodbye Cruel World” and The Time Tunnel, this one is definitely worth a listen. Smooth!

Order this CD

  1. The Best Is Yet To Come (2:26)
  2. Come Fly With Me (3:06)
  3. That Old Black Magic (3:08)
  4. All The Way (4:18)
  5. It’s Only A Paper Moon (2:32)
  6. I’ve Got The World On A String (2:06)
  7. You Better Love Me (2:04)
  8. Sophisticated Lady (4:57)
  9. Just In Time (2:22)
  10. I’ve Got You Under My Skin (3:14)
  11. The Way You Look Tonight (4:37)
  12. Here’s To The Losers (3:21)
  13. You’re Nobody ‘Till Somebody Loves You (2:18)
  14. Dancing In The Dark (3:02)
  15. Night And Day (2:21)
  16. I’ll Be Seeing You (3:08)
  17. Satin Doll (3:29)

Released by: Concord Jazz
Release date: 1999
Total running time: 52:39