Depeche Mode – A Broken Frame

Depeche Mode - A Broken FrameOne of the most truly noteworthy albums by Depeche Mode, this one was recorded after the departure of founding member Vince Clarke, and it demonstrated what could have been Depeche Mode’s true calling had they not ventured into heavier, more industrial territory – they could have explored some really different ground with light romantic ballads. On this album, I hold up “See You”, “A Photograph Of You” and “The Meaning Of Love” as examples. As unabashed pop songs go, these aren’t bad at all! Not to say that the more serious tunes on this album – notably “Satellite”, “The Sun And The Rainfall” and “Shouldn’t Have rating: 4 out of 4Done That” – aren’t good, but it’s just possible the Depeche Mode took a wrong turn when they became heavily percussive, heavily serious and political, and/or heavily dead serious with their love songs. I really, really like this album, even though it’s quite atypical of the group’s sound.

Order this CD

  1. Leave In Silence (6:28)
  2. My Secret Garden (4:45)
  3. Monument (3:14)
  4. Nothing To Fear (4:16)
  5. See You (4:35)
  6. Satellite (4:40)
  7. The Meaning of Love (3:06)
  8. further excerpts from My Secret Garden (4:20)
  9. A Photograph of You (3:04)
  10. Shouldn’t Have Done That (3:10)
  11. The Sun & The Rainfall (5:02)

Released by: Mute
Release date: 1982
Total running time: 46:40

Depeche Mode – Speak and Spell

Depeche Mode - Speak and SpellSo, here we go, I’m sure I’ll hear about this. Yes, I like that electronic group whose music careens back and forth between brilliant and banal. And sadly, the group’s debut album was – at least to me – more banal than brilliant. Though Depeche Mode really didn’t start finding its more familiar voice until after founding member Vince Clarke left, there are a few shining moments amid the primitive drum-machine- and-synth droning of the first album; “New Life” and “Dreaming Of Me” are worth a listen, though “Photographic”, a song which a high school friend of mine often played which was one of my first points of interest in Depeche Mode, has never quite rating: 1 out of 4fascinated me as much as the group’s later tunes. The same can be said for much of the rest of this album. I know it was revolutionary at the time, but Sgt. Pepper it’s not.

  1. New Life (3:56)
  2. Puppets (3:57)
  3. Dreaming of Me (3:42)
  4. Boys Say Go! (3:04)
  5. Nodisco (4:13)
  6. Order this CD What’s Your Name? (2:41)
  7. Photographic (4:58)
  8. Tora! Tora! Tora! (4:24)
  9. Big Muff (4:21)
  10. Any Second Now (Voices) (2:33)
  11. Just Can’t Get Enough (6:41)

Released by: Sire
Release date: 1981
Total running time: 44:30