Bryan Ferry / Roxy Music - Street Life: 20 Great HitsOh, what a wonderfully weird band Roxy Music was. Caught in the middle of the unlikely intersection of amusingly quirky and seriously crooning, Roxy Music had a distinct sound all its own, and this is an excellent starting place for those not already acquainted with that sound. Though there are several cover tunes both whimsical (Wilson Pickett’s “In The Midnight Hour”) and startlingly faithful (Dylan’s “A Hard Rain’s Gonna Fall”, Lennon’s “Jealous Guy”), the cream of the crop are the original 3 out of 4songs written by Ferry both for Roxy Music and his own solo albums. The standouts inlcude “Oh Yeah (On The Radio)” (a song which could well qualify as telling at least part of the story of my life), “More Than This”, “Sign Of The Times” (not the Prince song, thank you very much), Street Life and too many others to keep track of. If you’re in the mood for something offbeat, this may be right up your alley.

Order this CD

  1. Virginia Plain (2:59)
  2. A Hard Rain’s a-Gonna Fall (4:15)
  3. Pyjamarama (2:52)
  4. Do The Strand (3:46)
  5. These Foolish Things (4:49)
  6. Street Life (3:29)
  7. Let’s Stick Together (2:59)
  8. Smoke Gets In Your Eyes (2:53)
  9. Love is the Drug (4:04)
  10. Sign of the Times (2:27)
  11. Dance Away (3:44)
  12. Angel Eyes (2:51)
  13. Oh Yeah (On The Radio) (4:36)
  14. Over You (3:26)
  15. Same Old Scene (3:58)
  16. In the Midnight Hour (3:08)
  17. More Than This (4:10)
  18. Avalon (4:16)
  19. Slave To Love (4:17)
  20. Jealous Guy (4:56)

Released by: Reprise / EG
Release date: 1989
Total running time: 73:55