Big Country – The Crossing

Big Country - The CrossingAs legend has it, this band’s unique sound (heard vividly on their sole big hit “In A Big Country”) came from the two lead guitars playing the same note simultaneously, evoking a bagpipe effect befitting the band’s proud Scottish origins. It was certainly a unique sound, and though Big Country has retained a cult following ever since then, this album contains the single that people probably remember most from the radio. “Fields Of Fire”, a lesser-known single, is also worth a listen – overall, it’s a very unique sound. Whether you’re in an 80s pop nostalgia mood, or you just really liked this very interesting sound, I think you’ll probably like Big Country.

Rating: 3 out of 4

  1. In A Big Country (4:45)
  2. Inwards (4:38)
  3. Chance (4:25)
  4. 1,000 Stars (3:54)
  5. The Storm (6:21)
  6. Harvest Home (4:21)
  7. Lost Patrol (4:53)
  8. Order this CD in the Store Close Action (4:17)
  9. Fields of Fire (3:32)
  10. Porrohman (7:53)

Released by: Polygram
Release date: 1983
Total running time: 48:59