Afro-Celt Sound System - Volume 1: Sound MagicServing as a bit of a musical mission statement for Afro-Celt Sound System, their debut effort starts off with two numbers which are still among their strongest: “Saor / Free” and “Whirl-y-Reel 1”. “Sure-As-Not / Sure-As-Knot” wears a bit as it throws in samples of children chanting in its second half, though admittedly that’s just my taste speaking there. The two “Whirl-y-Reel” cuts are a preview of the fast-paced, dense percussion dance tracks that will become the Afro-Celts’ 3 out of 4specialty in the future, and Sound Magic largely lacks the serene vocals that also become the group’s hallmark in later outings. Still, it’s well worth a listen; recommended tracks include “Whirl-y-Reel 1”, “Inion / Daughter” and “House Of The Ancestors”.

  1. Saor / Free / News From Nowhere (8:21)
  2. Whirl-y-Reel 1 – Beard And Sandals Mix (7:21)
  3. Inion / Daughter (4:15)
  4. Sure-As-Not / Sure-As-Knot – Jungle Segue (9:58)Order this CD in the Store
  5. Nil Cead Againn Dul Abhaile / We Cannot Go Home (7:20)
  6. Dark Moon, High Tide (4:12)
  7. Whirl-y-Reel 2 – Folk Police Mix (5:27)
  8. House Of The Ancestors (8:01)
  9. Eistigh Sealad / Listen To Me / Saor reprise (10:53)

Released by: RealWorld / Virgin
Release date: 1996
Total running time: 65:48